Strawberry Picking: A Family Tradition


95 years young- picking berries
One of my most early childhood memories is of the hot summer sun beating down on me & picking strawberries with my Gram. Who would have known that 30 years later I’d be bringing Marcus & Henry along to do the same? Luckily, it was fairly shady and Marcus was an amazing 4 year old {now he’s 5!} picker- each berry he chose was carefully inspected for bugs, color & size….and then plopped in his little basket…

milkandrhurbarb-1

milkandrhurbarb-5The berries were PRIME for picking…

milkandrhurbarb-11

Henry didn’t really pick any that landed in his basket- they mostly went into this mouth :0)

milkandrhurbarb-6

milkandrhurbarb-4

milkandrhurbarb-3

milkandrhurbarb-2

film is not dead

An appropriate tee-shirt…since I was lugging around my beast of a Hasselblad medium format while picking… So happy I did though!

roasting pan of berriesI ended up with countless quarts happily stored in my freezer- smoothies all year long!

milkandrhurbarb-8

milkandrhurbarb-1-2

super serious strawberry strategist

{all shot on my Hasselblad H1 with Kodak Porta 400}

One thought on “Strawberry Picking: A Family Tradition

  1. Pingback: Rodeo & Co. Photography Blog | Strawberry Picking: Introducing the Milk & Rhubarb Blog

Leave a Reply

